scruffs

I turn now, as I do on occasion, to the stockpile of songs I once gratefully downloaded from a blog called Little Hits. The page is long-gone, lost to the misty whims of digital media. But at the time I discovered it, the procession of sonic obscurities was a wonderland. It was like stepping into an alternative version of my own college radio history. I recognized the sensation of songs that were personal treasures, but all but unknown outside of one cultural cluster.

For me, those sorts of songs were delivered by bands like Kingmaker, the Cost of Living, Sicilian Vespers, and Couch Flambeau. For the author of Little Hits, it was a completely different set of acts, but the songs sounded just as good. Before they showed up in one of the blog’s posts, I don’t believe I’d ever heard of the Scruffs, a power pop band out of Memphis that releases one album, in 1977, under their original iteration. (No bands truly die anymore, so revival outings followed decades later). I didn’t know it, but this was a band I always needed.

Thanks to the blog, “She Say Yea,” the B-side to the band’s debut single, was right there for the taking, and I immediately burrowed into my brain. This was exactly the sort of track that I loved to drop into a radio shift playlist, especially in the heavy heat of a sunny summer day. That makes it just right for today.

Listen or download –> The Scuffs, “She Say Yea”

(Disclaimer: As is the case with any of the Little Hits songs that I wheelbarrow over to this space, I believe the Scruffs track to be out of print in a way that allows it to be purchased from your favorite local, independently-owned record store in a manner that compensate both the proprietor of the store in question and the original artist. Since I’m well aware of the rules, I will gladly and promptly remove this file from my little corner of the digital world if asked to do so by any individual or entity with due authority to make such a request.)

Leave a Reply

