Beers I Have Known: Heater Allen Pils

This series of posts is dedicated to the many, many six packs, pony kegs and pints that have sauntered into my life at one point or another.

helles

Dear Portland,

Back in the earliest years of the Beer City USA online voting competition, I saw you as a disliked rival to my modest little mountain town. I was living in Asheville, North Carolina, which regularly took the top spot in the competition, much to, as we were made to understand, the chagrin of residents of Oregon’s most populous city.  At the time, I took some puffed up local pride in our small-ish city dominance of the major metropolis a couple thousand miles to the northwest, no matter how resolutely funky that metropolis was.

Now that I’ve spent a few days in your happy burg, with not only fine establishments within the city limits but a bevy of craft brewers whose wares rumble into local purveyors of adult beverages, I fully understand your agitation.

I’m still proud of Asheville and long for the beers made there, but I sincerely apologize for my prideful brattiness. Your beers are fantastic, from the first I drank — the Heater Allen Pils pictured above — to the cool, refreshing beverage that sits before me as I type my way through my airport wait.

Sincerely,

A Fan

 

Previous entries in this series can be found by clicking on the “Beers I Have Known” tag.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 362 other followers

