One for Friday: The Lime Spiders, “My Favourite Room”

Love at first listen is a wondrous thing. I don’t think the Lime Spiders had an album in rotation when I arrived at my college radio station in the fall of 1988. Their sophomore full-length, Volatile, might have been trailing along in the big batch of recent records that weren’t quite given the full-scale push but also hadn’t transitioned to the greater library. Even if that was the case, Volatile wasn’t the album I found.

Instead, for some reason, I slipped their debut, The Cave Comes Alive!, out of its place in the music stacks. Released in 1987, the album is thrilling, chewy garage rock, delivered with precisely the right dose of attitude that any fledgling college student would want. It was a recognizable cousin the more mainstream material I favored before crossing the threshold in the student-run station, but it was harder, smarter, tougher, more fearless.

Issued as a single, “My Favourite Room” ably demonstrates all of the band’s charms. I played this a lot, but then I played everything off this album a lot, grinning widely as I did it. There were many bands that made me feel I was finally properly home when I sat in that blessed broadcast studio. The Lime Spiders were definitely one of them.

Listen or download –> The Lime Spiders, “My Favourite Room”

(Disclaimer: I haven’t dug all that deeply to see if the Lime Spiders recorded output is available as a physical item that can be procured from your favorite local, independently-owned record store store in exchange for legal tender than is then distributed fairly among all those who have a cut coming to them. If it is, go buy some, and let this shared song be an enticement to commerce rather than a substitute for it. Go spend money at the record store anyway. It fills up the soul. I believe it is a reasonable employment of the fair use standard to share this song here, but I know the rules. I will gladly and promptly remove this file from my little corner of the digital world if asked to do so by any individual or entity with due authority to make such a request.)

Tagged with:
Posted in Music

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 357 other followers

