all

As is probably evident by now, the number of songs from my college radio days that I consider worthy of filing under the category of “favorites” could fill a full programming day. There are those that were clear peaks of beloved bands and there are those that snuck up on me over time, snuggling into my psyche following the discovery and championing of my valued cohorts. Then there are those songs that arrived as fully-formed, undeniable (to me) triumphs. From the moment the needle first hit the vinyl or the laser first struck the disc, the song was clearly, thrillingly perfect.

All’s “She’s My Ex,” from the 1989 album Allroy’s Revenge, is clearly, thrillingly perfect. Besides its cheeky trafficking in the perpetually satisfying pop music topic of romanticized heartbreak, it is punchy, catchy, and begs for simultaneous pogoing and yowling-along. And it miraculously manages a resolutely non-creepy way to depict the lingering sense of connection a person automatically feels for a former partner. It’s joyous and melancholy all at once. Circa age nineteen, I really couldn’t ask for much more from a song.

Listen or download –> All, “She’s My Ex”

(Disclaimer: I didn’t check to see if “She’s My Ex” is out of print as a physical item that can be purchased at your favorite local, independently-owned record store. In this instance, I assume it is available. I wanted to post it anyway. Because breaking rules is super punk rock, right? Let this be an enticement, then, to sample more music from All — the album that holds this track is top-notch and worth seeking out. One way or another, go buy some music this weekend. It’s good for whatever ails you. I will gladly and promptly remove this file from my little corner of the digital world if asked to do so by any individual or entity with due authority to make such a request.)

Leave a Reply

