ted-leo

Ted Leo wrote “Loyal to My Sorrowful Country” in response to the first term of George W. Bush, another Republican president who took possession of the Oval Office despite receiving fewer votes than his opponent. Though “Now that Georgie’s reign’s begun” is right there in the lyrics, the track feels highly pertinent today.

Though my name of bygone years
In the land, in the land
I’ll uproot it without tears
And I’ll change it if I can
And, no more shall I be loyal to my sorrowful country
No more shall I be loyal to my sorrowful country

Rousing, fierce, cogent protest rock is cold comfort, but today I’ll take any comfort I can get.

Listen or download –> Ted Leo and the Pharmacists, “Loyal to My Sorrowful Country”

(Disclaimer: I didn’t check to see if this song is in print or purchasable any place that will clearly deliver due compensation to Leo. I share it here as celebration of his music and his outlook, and I offer strong encouragement to support him in any way that you see fit. Buy any of his albums that you find in your favorite local, independently-owned record store, but the proprietor of that shop needs your support, too. I will gladly and promptly remove this file from my little corner of the digital world if asked to do so by any individual or entity with due authority to make such a request. And, one more thing: I’m very glad Leo is still out there, fighting the good fight with his guitar.)

Leave a Reply

