One for Friday: Allo, Darlin’, “Will You Please Spend New Years with Me?”

good-vibes

I’m hardly the first or most eloquent person to observe that 2016 has been one kick in the teeth after another. It’s as if the historic event of the Chicago Cubs winning the World Series for the first time in over a century used up every drop of good karma the year had amassed leaving existential carnage everywhere else. As we close the calendar on these dismal twelve months (and head into a 2017 that, let’s be real, will get worse before it gets better), I’m craving something charming and a little on the gentle side.

Hiding in a bedroom and watching cartoons all night sounds pretty good to me. And I, too, promise to eat my peas in the new year.

Listen or download –> Allo, Darlin’, “Will You Please Spend New Year’s with Me?”

(Disclaimer: Someday I’ll write more about the band Allo, Darlin’, properly expounding on their vibrant wonderfulness. For now, I’m bested by the weariness I feel in thinking about the grind that has led us to this point. I’ll also note sheepishly that this song is available for purchase on the band’s Bandcamp site. So please consider the sharing of this song in this space at this time as encouragement to go an purchase oodles of music from the band. Even better, go to your favorite local, independently-owned record store and procure a physical copy of one of their albums. Christmas is over, but the proprietor of the store in question still needs your support. Though I mean no harm in sharing this track, I know the rules. I will gladly and promptly remove this file from my little of the digital world if asked to do so by any entity or individual with due authority to make such a request. In fact, I’ll probably make that change of my own accord within a couple weeks, so get it while it’s hot. By “hot,” I don’t mean stolen, but I suppose that works, too. Sorry about that, Allo, Darlin’.)

Tagged with:
Posted in Music

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 362 other followers

