The Art of the Sell: Christmas Catalogs

These posts celebrate the movie trailers, movie posters, commercials, print ads, and other promotional material that stand as their own works of art. 

star wars catalog page.jpg

When I was a kid, I needed one thing and one thing only at this time of year: a Christmas catalog from one of the big department store chains. I tend to think of it as a Sears catalog, but realistically any of them would do. As long as the square bound publication was as thick as a big city phonebook and one-quarter to one-third of it was devoted to toys. I spent countless hours lying on my belly atop the shag carpeting, scrutinizing every entry on every page. (Well, not the girl stuff, because, I mean, yuck, right?) I circled the items that I coveted most, certain that pressing the ballpoint firmly enough caused my requests to somehow register on Santa’s big tote board up at the North Pole. Judging by the contents of my tox box, I clearly made big, swirling loops around items three and four above. And what I wouldn’t give to item eight now.

Other entries in this series can be found by clicking on the “Art of the Sell” tag.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

