This series of posts is dedicated to the many, many six packs, pony kegs and pints that have sauntered into my life at one point or another.

bottom up.png

It’s fun to chase after certain potables at beer festivals, whether established personal favorites or those grand rarities that will perhaps only ever be sipped in the strange rugby scrum of park-bound tipsiness. I think I’m most fond, however, of those completely unexpected discoveries, the instances when no particular hype or corresponding anticipation precedes a head-turning drink. When I attended the ludicrously abundant Great Taste of the Midwest this past August, I had utterly fantastic beers that I knew I needed to try and get while I could. In the months since, the echoing benefit of the festival has been my newfound knowledge that beers from Revolution Brewing are always worth picking up. The Chicago brewer impressed my whole crew with the excellence of their beverages across the board. Maybe more often than any of my home state favorites, I’ve been plucking Revolution cans off liquor store shelves when the fridge has needed restocking in recent weeks. And as I’ve been watching postseason baseball this fall, with a specific rooting interest, there’s been an added satisfaction to drinking beer from the Windy City. Lately, it’s been their Bottom Up. It’s good, but, as I note, they’re all good. I’m grateful they set up a stand.

Previous entries in this series can be found by clicking on the “Beers I Have Known” tag.

Leave a Reply

