One for Friday: Fetchin Bones, “Stray”

fetchin.png

I would have loved to see any of these shows.

As was projected in this space, I spent a portion of last weekend on the air at my alma mater, my first spin in the air chair in that particular studio in over fifteen years. It was delirious and delightful, a truly joyful experience that had the intense feel of coming home. With only two hours of airtime available to me, I barely got to dig into the history I carry with me from those days, much less the intervening decades of professional life and music fandom informed by my beloved time as a college radio kid. In particular, by largely relying on my strongest touchstone artiists to fill out the playlist, I didn’t devote nearly enough time to he relatively obscure acts. Elvis Costello and XTC probably still get plenty of retrospective attention from college radio programmers. I’m not sure Fetchin Bones does.

I’ve featured the Charlotte, North Carolina band here before. They weren’t a huge act at my radio station, but they were one of the dependable ones: always welcome in the new music rotation and circled back to just often enough by the on-air staff that they were never completely forgotten. Right there in the middle of a set, the voice of Hope Nicholls would roar across the speakers and every track in close proximity seemed a little more sedate because of it.

I could have filled an entire two-hour shift with bands just like Fetchin Bones, those that had brief flares of airplay dominance but are now unfairly neglected. Maybe I should have. There’s always next year, I suppose.

Listen or download –> Fetchin Bones, “Stray”

(Disclaimer: I believe the entirety of the Fetchin Bones catalog to be out of print, at least as physical objects that can procured from your favorite local, independently-owned record store in a manner that compensates both the proprietor of said store and the original artist. This music file is offered in this space, then, with the understanding that the sharing of it doesn’t impede worthy commerce. I will gladly and promptly remove it from my little corner of digital world if asked to do so by any individual or entity with due authority to make such a request.)

Tagged with:
Posted in Music

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 362 other followers

