The Art of the Sell: Freedom Rock

These posts celebrate the movie trailers, movie posters, commercials, print ads, and other promotional material that stand as their own works of art. 

When I was in college, I wasn’t exact smooth with the ladies. I was fervently devoted to the things which stirred my soul, and none of them — college rock, comic books, movies, comedy, baseball, politics, spiteful modern novels — exactly tagged me as a “catch.” While I considered myself lucky to find a cadre of pals who supported my dorkish ways, that mutual support occasionally compounded the problem. That preamble brings us to the sad tale of the night I and the person who looked at each other as wingmen in flights of the flirtatious were invited to the apartment of a pair of lovely young women. I don’t believe any amorous encounters were ever likely that evening, but any hope of exploring even the most restrained, delicate romance was smashed to itty bitty slivers when my friend and I mutually decided that the best way to entertain and impress our fetching hosts was to demonstrate to them how well we’d memorized the commercial for Freedom Rock, a collection of forty classic rock songs distributed on four records, three cassettes, or two CDs. We not only regaled them with ace impersonations of the two exuberant hippies who related the details of the set while sitting outside their burnout van, but sung boldly every music snippet in the commercial, from “Ramblin’ Man” to “Get Together.” We boys thought it was a nifty party trick. Those girls thought it meant the night was over. I’d like to say I realize the young women were correct given the added clarity of hindsight, but the truth is we understood the soundness of their decision as we exited their home that night. There are many ways, you understand, that commercials can coerce a person into questionable choices.

Other entries in this series can be found by clicking on the “Art of the Sell” tag.

Tagged with:
Posted in Music, television

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 362 other followers

