This series of posts is dedicated to the many, many six packs, pony kegs and pints that have sauntered into my life at one point or another.

3 floyds denim.png

I am a mediocre beer hunter. I admit this fact with humility and a dollop of shame. Though I take woozy delight in a artfully crafted beer, I am woeful when it comes to holding relevant details in my head about those concoctions that should be chased. I am a willing and eager wingman for those cohorts with encyclopedic knowledge of the breweries and their beers that are simultaneously great and elusive, and therefore worth coveting. It was one of those friends who introduced me to Three Floyds Brewing Co. I take it as a little blessing that I now live in one of the few states on the Indiana brewery’s distribution list.

I’m also terribly unskilled when it comes to tracking the opportunities to sample relatively rare beers in the hometown I’ve returned to. Thus, on a recent Saturday night, when sustenance was needed, I had no idea that a favorite local tavern had turned over several of their taps to Three Floyds. Thankfully, we wound up there anyway. It was an ideal gift given the significance of the day, the culmination of roughly a month of developments that all incrementally helped us finally feel settled anew in this splendid city. I first drank a Flying Tigersault, a crisp and invigorating pilsener, and followed it with a Perched Atop the Denim Throne, an American amber IPA dedicated to a fleet of “fallen heroes,” including “Rowdy” Roddy Piper. Both were delicious, gliding across my tongue like a proper reward for a long, tiring day.

What can I say? Sometimes I get lucky.

Previous entries in this series can be found by clicking on the “Beers I Have Known” tag.

Leave a Reply

