One for Friday: The The, “This Is the Day”

the the.png

Whenever major life changes are upon me, the soundtrack inside my head consistently leads with the same song. The last two lines of the chorus echo: “This is the day your life will surely change/ This is the day when things fall into place.”

After fifteen years working in higher education — the experiences of which are peppered throughout the writings in this space, albeit judiciously — I began a brand new chapter on Monday. For now, I’ll leave it at that and make this one of the weeks that I step aside after a minimal number of words and let the song carry the burden of communication. Right now, The The expresses how I feel better than I can.

Listen or download –> The The, “This Is the Day”

(Disclaimer: Usually, I try to stick with songs I believe to be out of print for this feature. While I haven’t bothered to check, I sincerely doubt that is the case in this instance. Please take this as an enticement to go to your favorite local, independently-owned record store and purchase some of the band’s music. I believe that sharing this song in this space in this way constitutes fair use, but I know the rules. I will gladly and promptly remove the file from my little corner of the digital world if asked to do so by any individual or entity with due authority to make such a request.)

Tagged with:
Posted in Music

Leave a Reply

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 362 other followers

