This series of posts is dedicated to the many, many six packs, pony kegs and pints that have sauntered into my life at one point or another.

one barrel

In just a few weeks, I’ll be moving away from Asheville, North Carolina, the wonderful mountain town that began properly earning the title of Beer City, U.S.A. shortly after I arrived, some eight years ago. Leaving behind so many favorite local brews and breweries has stirred up some wistful feelings and inspired me to load down the car with cans and bottles on a road trip that also served as a first pass at moving items to the northern capital city that is my once and future home. Luckily, I also had time on this particular trip for a little reconnaissance, acquainting myself with some of the purveyors of delectable beverages that have arrived on the scene in the fourteen years I’ve been away. That included the good fortune of stumbling upon a beer that was whole-heartedly recommended by a friend as one of the best she’s ever tasted. If the Bilbo Baggins Black IPA from One Barrel Brewing Company is any indication — and I feel confident that it is — my upcoming move back to Madison, Wisconsin is going to have multiple worthy distractions from any dismay I might feel about necessarily saying goodbye to my favorite Tar Heel State beers.

Previously…
Point Special
21st Amendment Bitter American
Abita Restoration Pale Ale
Rolling Rock
Skull Splitter
Foster’s
Highland Thunderstruck Coffee Porter
Red Stripe
Rhinelander Bock
Samuel Adams Boston Lager
New Glarus Brewing Company Wisconsin Belgian Red
ABA Hoppy Saison
Hamm’s
Abita Strawberry Harvest Lager
Three Floyds Apocalypse Cow
French Broad Brewing Gateway Kolsch
Big Boss Brewing “High Monkey”
Stevens Point Brewery Whole Hog Pumpkin Ale
The Native Brewing Company The Eleven Brown Ale
Labatt Blue
Smuttynose Winter Ale
Point Beyond the Pale IPA
Guinness
Capital Brewery Supper Club
Highland Brewing 20th Anniversary Scotch Ale
Mickey’s
Central Waters Brewing Company Sixteen
Blatz
Pisgah Pale Ale
New Glarus Brewing Company Pumpkin Pie Lust
Asheville Brewing Company Rocket Girl
Sierra Nevada Blindfold Black IPA
21st Amendment Brewery Down to Earth
Point Bock
3 Sheeps Hello, My Name is Joe
Corona

7 thoughts on “Beers I Have Known: One Barrel Brewing Company Bilbo Baggins Black IPA

Leave a Reply

