Because some days more than anything else you need a Japanese art rock band heavily influenced by Devo covering the Knack’s biggest hit. There’s just no getting around it.

Though I wrote a rave review of one of their albums several years back, I’ll admit that Polysics is a band that I rarely think of. So much of their appeal is based on novelty to me that I haven’t given due and proper exploration to their discography, which their Wikipedia page asserts is extensive (nearly twenty proper studio releases, although some of them are surely repackagings for different markets). While I haven’t my excursions into esoteric music taste, I maintain a little touch of envy for those who have a record collection populated almost entirely by releases that would make the average music fans scratch their noggin. Surely plenty of those collections have a few Polysics efforts in there, preferably on oddly colored vinyl. Me, I have to settle for the occasional song that smacks of just enough familiarity — “My Sharona” was one of those songs that seemed to be on the radio constantly when I was a kid — to draw me in and remind me that this band is a lot of fun and clearly have creative chops, albeit ones that were somewhat nicked from others.

And, yes, some days, for whatever reason, an energetic, playful, joyfully abrasive track like this sounds better than about anything else iTunes might shuffle up. It’s early, but I think today night be one of those days.

Listen or download –> Polysics, “My Sharona”

(Disclaimer: If I think the Wikipedia listing of Polysics releases is daunting, and I do, just imagine how perplexed I am searching through everything that’s out there on the sites I used to determine if an individual track is available for purchase in a format that will benefit both the artist and the proprietor of your favorite local, independently-owned record store. I’ll give you a hint: I’m very perplexed. Admitting my limited capabilities upfront, it appears to me that that album I know this song to be on is out of print as a physical item. I also think it’s fair use to post the song here, but I’m not committed enough to that rock of principle to die on it. What I’m saying is this: I will gladly remove the song from this humble corner of the internet if asked to do so by any individual or entity with due authority to make such a request.)

Leave a Reply

