Happy Halloween!

Robyn Hitchcock, with and without Egyptians, has been featured in this weekly spot more than any other artist, so I’m perhaps running out of insights to offer. I will note that this song comes from Hitchcock’s 1988 album, Globe of Frogs, which almost certainly provided my first exposure to an artist who looms as large as any for me. The single “Balloon Man” was a somewhat unlikely MTV mini-staple for a time, and the smack of novelty to the song got it some further play elsewhere. Naturally, then, when I got to campus radio station in the fall of that year, Globe of Frogs was the album I gravitated to, the little bit of familiarity providing safe entry to the deliriously twisted musical world of Hitchcock. Before my freshman year was up, Hitchcock released the masterful Queen Elvis, and I was hooked for good. There was also a girl in the mix, influencing my judgment about the artist, because of course there was.

“Sleeping with Your Devil Mask” was probably the track I played off of Globe of Frogs most often, mesmerized by its drive — though I didn’t fully understand it at the time, it harkened back to Hitchcock’s days with the Soft Boys more clearly than anything else on the record — and the swirl of dark, splendid imagery. Of course, the real reason I’m sharing it today is that it feels like a pretty great song to play on October 31st.

Listen or download –> Robyn Hitchcock and the Egyptians, “Sleeping with Your Devil Mask”

(Disclaimer: I do believe that Globe of Frogs remains out of print as a physical object that an be procured from your favorite local, independently-owned record store in a manner than compensates both the artist and the proprietor of said shop. I think that’s the fate of the bulk of Hitchcock’s output for A&M Records, which is a shame because there’s some amazing stuff in there. I certainly mean to cause no fiscal harm to Mr. Hitchcock and believe that I am not impeding fair commerce by sharing this. I will gladly and promptly remove it if asked to do so by any entity of individual with due authority to make such a request. Now, I think I’ll further make up for it by purchasing a couple tickets to see Robyn play live in Raleigh in less than a week from the moment I’m typing this out.)

Leave a Reply

