This series of posts is dedicated to the many, many six packs, pony kegs and pints that have sauntered into my life at one point or another.

Rolling_Rock

I’m fairly certain that the first time I heard of Rolling Rock, the pale lager issued by Pennsylvania’s Latrobe Brewing Company, was in Ed Haynes song “Splash.” Haynes describes encountering a drunk at a Blue Movie concert at San Francisco’s Haight Street Fair. Heavily inebriated on Mickey’s Big Mouth, the drunk winds up vomiting in the midst of the crowd, causing all around to “give him a lot of elbow room.” This causes a small existential crisis for Haynes because, as he puts it, “Mickey’s Big Mouth used to be my beer.” His solution: head out to the store and secure a six pack of Rolling Rock. As a lager, he assures the listener, “it goes down and it stays down.” With that assured endorsement, my cohorts and I naturally gravitated to the beer when it first became available in our area a couple of years later. None more so than my friend Jenny (who has kindly written for this digital space). She regularly recited the pledge printed on the back of the bottle before taking her first satiating sip from each new, icy cold Rolling Rock. For her, I end this post the only way I can. “33”

Previously…
Point Special
21st Amendment Bitter American
Abita Restoration Pale Ale

26 thoughts on “Beers I Have Known: Rolling Rock

Leave a Reply

