Spectrum Check

Comics were added to the mix recently over at Spectrum Culture, which speaks directly to my woefully geeky heart. My first offering on that front is a retroactive examination of the Wolverine miniseries created by Chris Claremont and Frank Miller in the early nineteen-eighties. I well remember reading the limited series when it was first published, reveling in the aching coolness of it. He was in a tight race with bashful Benjamin J. Grimm in my own personal Favorite Character category at the time. By the end of that decade, it’d be hard to think of a character I was less interested in.

This week also featured our collective listing of some of the best barbecue joints in the country. As an Asheville resident, my selection was practically a given, although there are a couple other mighty contenders in town. If I had the option of a second entry, I would have absolutely thrown some praise to Bubbalou’s Bodacious Barbecue, which is one of the things I miss about living in Orlando. (The previous hyperlink largely features the things I don’t miss.)